CAR ACCIDENT FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS
– How much does the attorney’s services cost?
– If I don’t have insurance, how can I get treated by a doctor for my injuries?
– What kind of damages can I recover for in a suit against the insurance company?
– What is the general process of our case?
– What is the required amount of auto insurance in Florida?
– What is uninsured/underinsured motorist benefits?
How much does the attorney’s services cost?
There is no up front costs. We get paid ONLY if you recover.
If I don’t have health insurance, how can I get treated by a doctor for my injuries?
Our attorneys know how to get you treated by a doctor without health insurance. The doctors that we recommend you treat with will treat you with a letter of protection. They will get paid for their services when you recover for your injuries.
What kind of damages can I recover for in a suit against the insurance company?
You may be able to recover for your medical bills, lost wages, lost earning capacity, pain and suffering, emotional trauma, and any other losses that are directly related to the accident.
What is the general process of our case?
The most important part and first step is getting you treated. While you are being treated, the attorneys will be working with you to gather all the information needed relating to your damages including photographs of your injuries and property, all of your medical bills and reports, a wage loss statement from your employer, and any other proof of your lost damages.
After you have been fully treated to the point where there can be no further improvement, our firm will draft a demand letter to the insurance comany requesting that all of your damages be paid. Our firm will vigorously fight with the insurance companies for what you deserve.
If we are not satisfied with the insurance companies settlement offer, we will file a lawsuit.
What is the required amount of auto insurance in Florida?
Florida automobile insurance laws require vehicle owners to have a minimum amount of $10,000 Personal Injury Protection (PIP). In addition to PIP, Florida law also requires a minimum of $10,000 No-Fault Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance that covers medical, surgical, funeral and disability benefits regardless of fault.
Essential coverage, including bodily injury coverage, uninsured motorist coverage and collision are not required by Florida law.
What is uninsured/underinsured motorist benefits?
Uninsured/underinsured motorist is a benefit you elect under your own car insurance. This benefit protects you against a negligent defendant who does not have liability coverage, or has minimum coverage that is inadequate to fully compensate you for your injuries. If you are involved in an accident with an uninsured but negligent individual, we would make a claim for you under your own uninsured motorist coverage. Your insurance carrier would then have to pay any judgment rendered, up to the limits of the policy which you purchased.
If the person who caused the accident has liability insurance, but the limits are less than the uninsured motorist coverage of your policy, we can make an additional claim under your policy for what is called underinsured motorist benefits, in the event that your damages exceed the limits of the other party’s liability coverage.